Back to All Events

IP Legends & Community Service Awards

  • AT&T, Midtown Two Ballroom 725 West Peachtree St NE Atlanta, GA 30308 United States (map)

Intellectual Property Legends® Award and Community Service Awards

The Intellectual Property Legends® Award, presented every 2-3 years, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in the area of intellectual property in the business and legal arenas. Intellectual Property Legends® Award recipients are those who have been role models within the intellectual property community, have displayed the highest level of ethics in their careers, and have had a positive impact on their communities.

2018 IP Legends Luncheon Details

11:30 a.m. Reception
12:00 p.m. Luncheon
Wednesday, Oct. 24
AT&T, Midtown Two Ballroom
725 West Peachtree St NE, Atlanta

2018 IP Legends Award Recipients

  • Lonnie Johnson, Inventor and Engineer

  • Lawrence “Larry” Nodine, partner at Ballard Sphar

  • Hon. Andrew Young Jr., Congressman, Diplomat, Mayor, Pastor, Activist

Past Honorees

  • 2015: Henry "Hank" Aaron, community leader and baseball legend

  • 2015: Michael Landau, Georgia State professor of law

  • 2015: William "Bill" Needle, partner at Ballard Spahr

  • 2012: Joe Beck, partner, Kilpatrick, Townsend & Stockton LLP

  • 2012: Bill Curry, inaugural Georgia State University football coach

  • 2012: Dennis C. Liotta, professor, and Raymond F. Schinazi, professor, Emory University

  • 2012: L. Ray Patterson, professor, University of Georgia

  • 2009: Stanley F. Birch Jr., judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit

  • 2009: Ted Turner,  chair of Turner Enterprises Inc.

  • 2009: Anthony B. Askew, partner with King & Spalding LLP

  • 2007: Miles J. Alexander, partner at Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

  • 2007: S. Truett Cathy, founder and CEO of Chick-fil-A

  • 2007: Sandy Evans, former chief IP counsel for BellSouth

Earlier Event: October 22
Corporate IP Institute
Later Event: October 25
AIPLA Annual Meeting (DC)